Love is in the air!

Pardon the hiatus in my blogging for I have been bewitched by the chinese drama which everyone is watching, “Startling By Each Step”, also known as, <<步步惊心>>. It is a beautiful and tragic love story based in the Qing Dynasty, intertwining many members of the royal family.

To cut the long story short, I’ve attached a simple description of the show, adopted from www.viki.com: Through a car accident, Zhang Xiao traveled back in time into a body of one of her previous reincarnations, a 16 years old aristocratic Manchu girl, Maertai Ruoxi, living in the Qing Dynasty. Although she knows she should not get involved in palace intrigues over the succession to the throne, she inadvertently becomes a pawn in the struggle, because she could not help but love someone, and others came to love her.

If you are interested, do check it out on youtube! Here’s the first episode for beginners! 😉

As this is a love story based in the olden days, it is really interesting to see how love is expressed so subtly, patiently and generously despite the many odds each pair of lovers may face. The lack of modern technology such as the mobile phone and internet also made communication difficult and every word in a letter so treasured. As I watch the show, it is hard not to be influenced. It made me guilty, thinking about how sometimes I took Poh for granted.

Before Valentine’s Day, I was still thinking if Poh would be getting anything special for me. Not that he ought to, but like any other girls, I too, had hoped that Poh would prepare something special. Blame all that hype on Valentine’s Day that got me all excited too! Haha.. But considering the fact that he is very busy recently and very much caught up with his work, I thought it would be just another day. Before the occassion, I made a casual remark to him of an acute pain in my right wrist. Every time I pick up my right hand to type or move the mouse, the pain kicked in and bugged me for the entire day. Upon hearing that, he got me a wrist support with wheels the very next day.

It is an inexpensive item and is probably hardly worth mentioning. However, the more I used it, the more I thought about how heartwarming it is that he placed what I need as his priority. This wrist support does come in handy during work and has helped ease the unnecessary pain that sets in every time I use the mouse. I comforted myself that this beats any Valentine’s Day gift.

A few days before Valentines’, he did not say anything about the occasion so I thought to myself, A simple dinner together will suffice. I prepared myself mentally not to expect anything fanciful. I even offered to cook so as to ensure that he could focus on his work.

It turned out to be quite different. Knowing my love for taking pictures and documenting what I do, he told me 2 nights before the occasion that we will be heading to the city area for a nice dinner. He did not let me in on the details and although that kept me guessing where our dinner would be, I tried my utmost to dismiss any expectations, for fear that I may end up disappointed.

Not only was I not disappointed, I was pleasantly surprised. He had booked us a table to dine at an exquisite area in the premises of Bugis Intercontinental Hotel, the place we held our wedding banquet. The place was gorgeous.

My Favourite Poh

The gorgeous waitress serving us champagne

The door gift from the hotel

Theme: Seafood

Love the Mango dress Dear picked for me

Our Starter

Superlicious Soup with LARGE chunks of crab

A beautifully crafted interlude

Initially Poh and I didn’t understand why the dessert was served before the main course. Seeing our puzzled faces, the waitress came forward to explain that this lemon lime manuka honey sorbet is served for us to clear our palate before the main is served. I made a remark playfully, saying that the serving is simply too small. Surprise, surprise! The lady came back with another serving for our table, much to our delight. Thumbs up for the excellent service! 😉

While we ate our sorbet, we let loose a little and unleashed the naughty side in us.

Not just did we tried playing with the dry ice:

We posed with the sorbet too! 😛

The main was served and as delectable as it seemed, the truffle was a little too overwhelming.

Just look at the huge stalk of black truffle!

Finally the dessert!

All in all, it was really a sumptuous dinner that we had and the both of us were super full satisfied at the end of the meal. There wasn’t even any more room for tea!

 And guess what we caught sight of that night? A proposal in action!

How sweet right? The guy had planted his friends behind the pillars to take secret shots of him popping the question before they emerged to take a front shot.

As for me, what have I gotten Poh? Nothing… Super ashamed of myself but I redeemed myself the very next day! Haha… While waiting for him to complete his reservist training, I got him a pair of Nike gloves and an exercise mat so as to prep him for his IPPT on that very Saturday.

So glad he passed! 😀

Plus plus plus… This isn’t exactly a Valentine’s Day gift for Poh but I guessed it could be counted? Hee hee… I responded to a Straits Times editor tweet in featuring balconies and got our balconies which Poh put in so much effort to maintain and decorate featured!

Right click on image and open in a new tab for a better read! 🙂

Giving him due recognition was probably the best thank you gift I could give him, given the weekend afternoons he spent scrubbing away at both the balconies and ensuring that they are always spic and span. Here’s another pic of the gorgeous sunrise taken from our living room balcony:

I guess, at the end of the day, Valentines’ Day may seemed to many as just another occasion for various organisations to bulk up their sales figures and attract patrons who wish to flaunt their love for their partners. For me, I think it’s an occasion for us to slow down and appreciate each other amidst our busy schedule. If not for the many predesigned dinner packages and Valentines’ special, how many times do we stop ourselves in our chase after deadlines and endless work? Hardly, especially so in Singapore. I’m glad there’s Valentine’s Day. Though everyday should be Valentines’ Day for all couples, making one day out of the 365 extremely special and spoiling ourselves silly ain’t too much to ask for eh? 🙂

I shall end this post with 2 cute pics of mama shiowling’s newfound love: Baby Kaen who is 3 months old!

Cute right?

Til the next post! 🙂

What Say You? ;)

