Recycle!

Just as I thought I would be finishing what I started, I met with an obstacle. I have exceeded my bandwidth and it will only reset to zero in 4 days. That would mean that anyone, who would like to see the feast that we had would have to wait for another week. As much as I could finish typing what I would want to have documented, inserting the images, refitting them into the width of the webpage and aligning them would take a certain amount of time so for any disappointed souls, my apologies goes out to you!

I shall replace your anticipation for my yummilicious dinner at Cingjing with, instead, some random thoughts of mine.

I had went to get a shirt for my husband and came home with the paper bag that contained it. It did looked flimsy but what do you usually do with the carrier for the item after you kept your purchase? Do you throw it away or would  you keep it? If you keep it, what use does it serve?

For me, I like paper carriers, simply because they are recyclable. I don’t just chuck them aside. I keep them. Do not mistake that I’m a hoarder. I’m an advocate of paper carriers. Some might complained that these carriers usually give way if the items are too heavy or the bags will tear if the items are bulky but in my opinion, they serve their intended purpose. Serving as a holder with handles, once I brought them home, I would  put them to use. Every other week, I would take out one of them from my storeroom and use it to hold other paper items such as used envelopes from the mails received, the paper roll that was used to support the tissue rolls or paper towels, carton boxes from Poh’s and my online purchases e.t.c  In short, it will hold anything that is worth recycling. Once we fill it to its brim, I will bring it downstairs and deposit it into the recycling bin just next to the rubbish collection point.

How many of you do that? Not many, I guess.

How many of us have not heard of recycling? It is probably the buzz word in most good citizen’s lesson in most local primary school. Unfortunately, due to the lack of time or greed or the mind boggled with too many other matters or with whatever reasons (or excuses) you can come up with and as we age, many important messages we learnt when we were young were simply forgotten and placed right at the back of our heads. Recycling is probably one that is too conveniently done so. If that puzzles you or if you are guilty of that, do not be.  This activity may never have been a priority for many. Look around you if you were on the streets.  You will be surprised to realise it is not easy to find a recycling bin as compared to a rubbish bin. Similarly, in families, if recycling is not a practice,  the message taught in schools falls on deaf ears. Some families are also too worried about getting by to be concerned with recycling, an activity that could do not reap immediate benefits. In fact, it may just add to the clutter, dust and invite unwanted guests such as pests to the house.

It is really unfortunate that Singapore do not have a strong message of recycling, even though most Singaporeans do throw their trash into rubbish bin. To see one separate trash before finding a recycling bin at a shopping mall is rare. Shopping malls are, however, definitely stepping up their game to encourage this good habit. I was at Ion Orchard some time back and spotted a row of bins bearing different signage for different of trash. It is then, the duty of a good citizen of Earth, to do one’s part and deposit the rightful waste material into their respective bins. It may seemed like a lot of trouble on one’s part to do that but if it can be done once, it can be done again. Cultivating a habit of recycling takes time and it starts with the government, the government bodies, the teachers, the schools, the organisations that are in plain sights of everyone to highlight this message and emphasize the need to recycle. This habit is definitely evident in Taiwan and Japan though.

Just a little digressing: I was running past a bus-stop last weekend and caught sight of a poster with a playground littered with trash. Have we gone to the extent that not only are we not recycling, we are dirtying the areas we call our home? I am pretty sure these are just pre-emptive measures in place to remind Singaporeans to watch their behaviour, even if no one is looking on. It would be disastrous to know that having places around you could be littered and filthy!

Please dismiss my incoherence. I wish to blabber on but I think I made my point. If you feel for a cleaner and greener place for your children to live in, take a step further. Take a cue from the countries mentioned above. Besides getting your rubbish into the green bins that are pretty easily located everywhere, spot the recycling bins that are lined near you as well. You will not know how impactful your actions are today but I strongly believe the future generation would appreciate this minute gesture of yours in due time.

Without going further,  here’s my point to each and everyone who is reading this. Waste not. Recycle. I am also going to bring that full bag of recyclable downstairs before I turned in for the night. Good night! 🙂

P.S. Look out for the superb spread we had for dinner in Cingjing! 😀

What Say You? ;)

